illy Partners with “The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two”

Trieste, 09 November 2016 – illycaffè – the company founded in Trieste in 1933 and today the global quality leader in the world of coffee – is partnering with “ The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two , a culinary event at which forty of the world’s most cutting-edge chefs cook at the same time on five different continents on Thursday 10 November, for an exchange (top secret until the last minute) of restaurants, teams, techniques and cultures.

The event is being held for the second year running, after making a successful international debut in 2015. The formula remains the same, only with more chefs participating from Brazil, Russia, Italy, and Japan. The event was conceived to push back culinary frontiers, drive chefs’ creativity to new heights, and expand cultural horizons.

Each participating chef is assigned to the kitchen of another chef who has accepted the challenge. Over a four-day period, they work shoulder-to-shoulder with staff at that restaurant, sharing their lives with their colleague’s family and friends. The chefs have to conjure up an eight-course menu inspired by the culinary delicacies and culture of their host city. Members of the public can purchase tickets for 10 November for a specific restaurant, but without knowing the name of the guest chef, which will only be revealed on the evening of the meal.

Ever-interested in food industry trends and new developments, illycaffè will be alongside the chefs during “ The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two ” with its unique blend , 100% Arabica, created from a masterful selection and combination of nine of the finest origins in the world, enhanced through the best technologies developed throughout more than eighty years of family passion and entrepreneurship .

The Grand Gelinaz! Shuffle Two ” chefs are: Alex Atala, Inaki Aizpitarte, Massimiliano Alajmo, José Avillez, Massimo Bottura, Danny Bowien, Sean Brock, Manu Buffara, Daniel Burns, Riccardo Camanini, Paul Carmichael, Dominique Crenn, Sven Elverfeld, Anand Gaggan, Adeline Grattard, Sean Gray, Rudolfo Guzman, Zaiyu Hasegawa, Dan Hunter, Mikael Jonsson, Christopher Kostow, Virgilio Martinez, Carlo Mirarchi, Vladimir Mukhin, Yoshihiro Narisawa, Matt Orlando, Christian Puglisi, Dave Pynt, René Redzepi, Niko Romito, Ana Ros, Alexandre Silva, Ben Shewry, Bo Songivsava, David Thompson, Lee Tiernan, Simone Tondo, Mitsuharu Tsumura, Blaine Wetzel, and Jock Zonfrillo.