illycaffè at Artissima 2014

Turin, 7 – 9 November 2014 – Artissima and illycaffè renew their partnership for the fourteenth consecutive year with the production of Present Future, an exhibition area specially dedicated to emerging talent. The artists are invited by a team of international curators and presented by their respective galleries in a central section of the Fair with a purposely designed exhibition route.  Over the years, the exhibition has acquired an important role as a springboard for talented young artists.

In 2014, the scope of Present Future will be further expanded, showing the work of 20 artists presented by 21 galleries (3 Italian, 18 foreign) who were chosen by a curatorial Committee made up of five renowned international curators – Catalina Lozano, Piper Marshall, Jamie Stevens, Xiaoyu Weng and Luigi Fassi (coordinator).

The work of the participating artists includes new pieces created ad hoc for the Fair and projects being exhibited for the first time in Europe and Italy.

This year, illycaffè once again confirms its sponsorship of the illy Present Future Prize, which is awarded to a young artist chosen by a jury of renowned international curators. Since 2012, the Prize has offered the winning artist the exceptional opportunity of holding an exhibition at Castello di Rivoli Museum of Contemporary Art, the opening of which will coincide with the next edition of Artissima. The partnership demonstrates a mutual desire to support new international art and this year, in the historic setting of the Castello, it will present the unseen works of last year's two winners ex aequo (Caroline Achaintre and Fatma Bucak). The jury responsible for choosing the winner of the illy Present Future Prize 2014 during the Artissima fair is composed of Lorenzo Benedetti, Gianni Jetzer, Koyo Kouoh and Beatrice Merz.

Thanks to the artistic sensibility of illycaffè, to the passionate work of the museum curators and directors who are involved with Artissima in curating and selecting the Present Future artists, and to Castello di Rivoli's interest and active collaboration with the project, the illy Present Future Prize offers an important contribution to the success of emerging artists, again confirming the innovative role of this internationally acclaimed artistic institution.

For over twenty years, illycaffè has played an active role in expanding the audience for contemporary art by supporting international artists and exhibitions; the illy Present Future Prize being a result of this participation, which over the years has proved to be an exceptional source of talent. This is confirmed by numerous artists, such as Phil Collins, Mateo Tannatt, Patricia Esquivias, Luca Francescani, Shizuka Yokomizo, Padraig Timoney, Michael Beutler and Melanie Gilligan, some of whom are among the winners of previous editions and are now both successful and respected on the international art scene.